Wanderlust

And it was finally Nebraska on 9th of October 2015. After months of speculation,I finally landed in Omaha, Nebraska.This land of prairies and meadows have always fascinated me. To see the vast rolling hills and corn fields was my heart’s desire because deep down I have never really liked staying in the cities or suburbs for that matter.

It was a long flight and we flew through Minneapolis bordering Canada. It was cold and cloudy and a drastic change in weather from the sunny California. It felt good because I was missing such weather in California. Back at home, Assam to be precise,clouds come and go at the drop of a hat and it pours like cats and dogs on a cloudy day. The clouds over Minneapolis sky kind of gave me a prelude to the times to come in Nebraska!

Minneapolis

                                                                              Minneapolis

Elkhorn is about 18 miles away from downtown Omaha and the beautiful rolling hills and colors of autumn welcomed me during my drive from the airport. Acres and acres of sprawling lush green meadows on both sides of the roads were a fresh breather. My accommodation was surrounded by hillocks. Thankfully I also got a room which had a bedroom view to the east and living room view to the west.

3

The best part of this place was that I could see the horizon all around, that means till my eyes could stretch, there were no houses taller than a single story. Unlike California where there scores and scores of houses on every single patch of land, here there were only a group of houses every about 5-10 miles. There are lot of lakes and few rivers around me which I have to explore during the coming weeks.

1

Today was a bit cloudy morning and I could see the clouds streaming in from western horizon to east covering the sunshine. It was an awesome feeling to be able to see the entire sky 360 degree at one go!

5

There are lot of plans to explore the nearby states namely Missouri, Kansas, Colorado, South Dakota, Montana and on top of the list is Iowa and its covered bridges.

Enjoying the serenity of nature far away from the madness of towns and cities already, I look forward to a blissful next one year in the beautiful mid-west of America.

6

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bikramjit
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 07:41:58

    Have fun. . And thank you for sharing such lovely pictures…

    Reply

  2. Rinks
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 14:21:11

    Thanks Bikram, not so good pictures as they were from my cell phone…..thanks for liking them 🙂 wait for the better one !

    Reply

  3. Nimmi
    Oct 22, 2015 @ 18:41:15

    Indeed!! Photos are so beautiful… I hope that you must be enjoying yourself in this beautiful place 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Exoticrinku

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,344 hits
